Next Year

I blogged yesterday about a few things I already do to try to lessen my impact on the environment and to ease my family into the hardships that may be coming. Now, I’d like to talk about the future.

Every year, as the first frosts turn my tomato plants to mush (no worries, green tomatoes already safely inside), I start to make plans for next year: what to grow, where to put it, what didn’t work out. In the middle of winter, when the first seed catalogs start to arrive, I’m already rarin’ to go.

This year, I did much better about harvesting and using what I grew – even if that meant giving away some of our produce so that someone (other than our compost pile) could make good use of it. If I’d had a dehydrator, I would have been able to put up small quantities, but our tomatoes, especially, didn’t produce enough at one time to justify canning. Strange year. Lots of rain, but no real hot weather until the very end of summer. 

This upcoming year, I’d like to tackle some projects to make us even more self-sufficient and to ensure that we utilize our small harvest to the utmost. 

Plans for Next Year:

The Garden

  • Build trellises for cucumbers
  • Don’t bother growing my own melons
  • Expand herb garden to include chamomile, dill, and reintroduce lemon balm (in pot!) and borage
  • Get better at drying and using my herbs
  • Plant more plum tomatoes and can sauce, whole tomatoes, salsa, etc.
  • Try growing quinoa
  • Order more garlic for next fall’s planting (Music and Siberian varieties were delish
  • Plant at least double the potatoes I grew this year and larger varieties – keepers. Don’t bother with fingerlings (except for seed stock I saved this year)
  • Order two more raspberry canes (Caroline)
  • Order 1 – 2 more fruit trees depending on space and pollination factors

Building Projects

  • Build or acquire solar oven and dark colored pot to cook in
  • Build solar food dryer
  • Bees? Consider building top-bar hive over winter. Read up on this and be sure of city ordinances and safety factor for kids

In General:

  • Can more of our own produce or produce from farmer’s market 
  • Go to pick-your-own organic strawberry place and get enough for jam and dried berries
  • Host 2nd annual Kitchen Garden Open House
  • Paint some signs for our garden (once I decide what to call our “farm”)
  • Vermicompost?
  • Find bulk (hopefully local) resources for dried beans and some grains and order more
  • Build up enough food stores for three months
  • Put together my tofu press and try it out
  • Create more food storage areas in the house
  • Salvage, thrift, and garage sale more
Leave a Reply

